Glossary - RCVDA



This is an attempt by us to provide a single glossary of our own of the voluntary sector abbreviations we encounter on a daily basis. We’ll start with own name Redcar and Cleveland Voluntary Development Agency, which is frequently abbreviated to RCVDA.




These are organisations that operate within Redcar and Cleveland:

  • RCBC: Redcar and Cleveland Borough Council
  • RCVDA: Redcar and Cleveland Voluntary Development Agency

Tees Valley

The Tees Valley consists of five unitary local authorities, they are:

  • DBC: Darlington Borough Council
  • HBC: Hartlepool Borough Council
  • MBC: Middlesbrough Borough Council
  • RCBC: Redcar & Cleveland Borough Council
  • SBC: Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council

Cleveland or Teesside or Tees: refers to these boroughs, minus Darlington Borough Council.

These are organisations that operate across the Tees Valley

  • Sustrans: short for Sustainable Transport, Sustrans is the custodian of the National Cycle Network
  • TEWV: Tees, Esk and Wear Valleys NHS Foundation Trust
  • TVCA: Tees Valley Combined Authority
  • TVRA: Tees Valley Rural Action

These are organisations that operate within the North East Region

  • VONNE: Voluntary Organisations Network North East


These are organisations that offer support nationally:

  • NAVCA: National Association for Voluntary and Community Action


These are terms commonly used in the voluntary and community sector.

  • CYP: Children and Young People
  • ESG: Environmental, Social and Governance
  • LIO: Local Infrastructure Organisation
  • VCS: Voluntary and Community Sector
  • VCSE: Voluntary, Community and Social Enterprise 
  • CAT: Community Asset Transfer
  • SMARTER: Specific, Meaningful, Achievable, Relevant, Time-bound, Evaluate, Re-adjust
  • THRIVE: Timely, Helpful, Respectful, Innovative, Values-based and Efficient

These are terms commonly used by the Local Authority

  • DPH: Director of Public Health
  • JSNA: Joint Strategic Needs Assessment
  • RSL: Registered Social Landlord
  • TATI: Team around the individual

These are terms commonly used by National Health Service and the Public Health Departments:

  • CCG: Clinical Commissioning Group (this is now replaced by the ICP)
  • CYP IAPT: The Children and Young Peoples’ Improving Access to Psychological Therapies Programme
  • CAMHS: Child and Adolescent Mental Health Services
  • HWB: Health and Wellbeing Board
  • HWBE: Health and Wellbeing Executive
  • ICB: Integrated Care Board
  • ICP: Integrated Care Partnership
  • NEAS: North East Ambulance Service
  • NHS: National Health Service
  • NHSE: National Health Service England
  • NIHR: National Institute for Health and Care Research
  • CPA: Care Programme Approach

These are terms commonly used in Safeguarding in the Tees Valley:

  • CPS: Crown Prosecution Service
  • CQC: Care Quality Commission
  • CSP: Community Safety Partnership
  • DTC: Duty to Co-operate
  • IDVA :Independent Domestic Violence Advisor
  • IMCAs: Independent Mental Capacity Advocates
  • LSCB: Local Safeguarding Children’s Board
  • MAPPA: Multi-Agency Public Protection Arrangements
  • MARAC: Multi-Agency Risk Assessment Conference
  • MCA: Mental Capacity Act
  • MHA: Mental Health Act
  • MHA COP: Mental Health Act Code of Practice
  • MSP: Making Safeguarding Personal
  • QSG: Quality Surveillance Group
  • SAB: Safeguarding Adults Board
  • SAR: Safeguarding Adults Review
  • TSAB: Teeswide Safeguarding Adults Board

These terms are commonly used is Sport:

  • NGB:National Governing Body
  • LTA: Lawn Tennis Association

And in national government

  • DoE: Department of Education
  • DH: Department of Health
  • DLUHC ‘D-lock’: Department of Levelling up, Housing and Communities
  • DWP: Department of Work and Pensions

Other Glossaries and Resources